February 17th, 2015
What Happens To Your Facebook Account When You Die?
On Thursday, Facebook released the legacy contact feature which determines exactly what happens to your account when you die.
The new setting will allow users to grant a family member, spouse or friend permission to access their account after they have passed away.
This person will be able to manage the account, post messages, update pictures and respond to friend requests.
If additional permission is given, they will also be able to download profile information, content and photographs which have been shared on the platform.
The only thing which they won’t be able to do is access the user’s direct messages, as the site promises to keep these private.
From gathering feedback, Facebook found that thousands of users who were experiencing grief were requesting this type of feature.
Before the legacy contact setting, Facebook had been turning these accounts into memorial pages or deleting them completely. This has upset and distressed many users, which is probably the main reason for the release of this new feature.
In their announcement, Facebook said, “When a person passes away, their account can become a memorial of their life, friendships and experience.
“By talking to people who have experienced loss, we realised there is more we can do to support those who are grieving and those who want a say in what happens to their account after death.”
If you would prefer not to have a legacy contact, you can opt for your account to be deleted instead.
At the moment, this feature is only available to users in the U.S. It is expected to roll out to the rest of the world in the coming months.
Hopefully, Facebook’s new feature will show that they are sympathetic and care about their users. It will help to create a community for those who are grieving, where they can share their thoughts, feelings and memories.< Back to Blog