Posted on
November 30th, 2012

Group member’s glitch prompts Facebook investigation

Facebook is investigating a glitch in their system which has resulted in some of its members being re-registered into groups that they have previously left.

The group facility is promoted as a ‘private space’ which allows family, friends, pupils in a school class and co-workers to share polls, chat messages and updates between each other with the security that not only can those outside the group not see the messages, but the group members are kept ‘secret’ too.

This glitch has raised concerns with administrators of some ‘secret’ groups that old members would be able to access ‘highly sensitive’ information, whilst Facebook users have been frustrated by the need to have to repeat the process of leaving each group on a one by one basis.

Facebook have reassured users that the glitch would not allow access to any users’ personal details, providing they were hidden via the privacy settings.

“Some users appear to have been re-added to groups that they have left in the past,” the firm said in a statement.

“We are investigating the issue.”

< Back to Blog