Posted on
June 25th, 2015

Google Adds Recall Button to Its Gmail Service

Have you ever sent an email and instantly regretted it? If the answer is yes, you’re not alone! Google has recently added a recall button to its Gmail service, which allows users to retrieve messages up to 30 seconds after they’re sent.

This means that if you misspell a word, send the email to the wrong person or accidentally click “reply to all”, you don’t have to worry about the message being sent.

The new tool, which is called the “Undo Send”, is available to all users with a Gmail web account and to those who access their inbox via the mobile app.

Google said in a recent blog post, “Previously a popular feature in Gmail Labs, and recently added to Inbox by Gmail, today we’re adding ‘Undo Send’ as a formal setting in Gmail on the web.”

“Undo Send allows people using Gmail to cancel a sent mail if they have second thoughts immediately after sending. The feature is turned off by default for those not currently using the Labs version, and can be enabled from the General tab in Gmail settings.”

If you would like to start using this service, you will need to go into your settings and activate the feature. Under the general settings tab, you should be able to tick the “Enable Undo Send” function.

You will then be able to choose whether you have a 5, 10, 20 or 30 second window to which you can retrieve your email messages.

Each time that the Gmail user sends an email, they will be able to see a message at the top of the screen asking if they would like to undo. If this is clicked within the selected time frame, the email will be retrieved before it reaches the recipient.

The recall feature has been available for around 6 years but only to those subscribed to its “experimental labs” programme. This means that out of its 900 million active users, the majority won’t have experienced using the tool.

With so many people using email for both personal and business reasons, it’s extremely important that Google continue to add useful features to their services. The “Undo Send” feature will undoubtedly be a success with people around the world and it will be interesting to see what the company does next.

< Back to Blog